Spread the Word of Awesome!

“All black people look the same.” “All Asian people look the same.” “All Mexican people look the same.” Blah blah blah. MAN, does that get annoying…

I’m white. I’m white, and racism confuses me. I find it silly when someone claims that someone does something, or is a certain way just because of their skin color. It also bothers me when people say, “you can’t be racist toward white people.” It’s like saying, “men can’t be raped.” What is this “hate crime” bullshit we have? A white man can’t hit a black man, even if the black man hit him first. “Why did you hit him? Because he was black?” “No, it was self defense. I would’ve done the same thing it he were white.” No excuse, it’s a hate crime. However, if a black man hits a white man, even if he hit him because he’s white, it’s simply an assault crime. Makes. No. Sense. Shouldn’t either scenario just be the same crime?

A person cannot be judged for being born a certain way. Do you think we choose our skin color before birth? Do we choose if our brains are healthy? Do we choose if we don’t have deformities? Do we choose what sex we’re attracted to? No, we do not. So why do people discriminate against things we can’t control? If we are to hate another person, it should not be based on their race or sexuality, it should be based on the things they can control, like their personality. Hate someone for being an insensitive asshole, hate someone for being abusive, hate someone for being homophobic, but don’t hate them because of their fucking SKIN. What if you cut someone who is black? What color is their blood? Red. White people have red blood, Asians have red blood, everyone has red blood. Find someone who bleeds blue, and then start asking questions.

I was thinking the other day about when people say, “all [BLANK] people look the same.” I watch a lot of movies, most of them horror, and a good chunk of them are Asian horror. For some reason, I don’t enjoy foreign movies that are in languages other than English or an Asian language. Anyway, the point is, I’ve seen movies where there are more than just white people. IMAGINE THAT. I’ve realized that you can place the word “white” in that [BLANK].

I have short term memory loss, so I can forget new information very quickly. This includes faces, believe it or not. Unless the person has a unique and defining characteristic, I can’t tell one person from the next unless I’ve spent enough time with them to memorize their face. With movies, you only get a short time to become familiar with an assortment of characters, so most of the time, I actually can’t keep track of who is who unless there is something about them that’s different than everyone else. If there’s one black guy in the whole movie, obviously I’m going to recognize him, but say there are two white guys who are around the same age and have blonde hair. Could I tell you who is who? Not unless I watch the movie a few times.

The ironic thing is, when I’m watching an Asian horror movie, I recognize individual faces much quicker. Why is this? Don’t all Asians look the same? How can I tell two Asians apart verses two white people apart? How the hell is that possible? Not sure. Maybe it’s because I don’t see someone as their race, but as another human. But that wouldn’t explain why I have issues discerning white people. I can’t offer a logical explanation to this conflict, but it’s this factor that made me really think about the phrase, “all [BLANK] look the same.” Well, you know what? All white people look the same too.

When looking at it biologically, there are many genes that contribute to human appearance, but because genes are passed down, we share a lot of physical characteristics. If your mom and dad are both blonde, you’re going to be blonde. If both parents are Japanese, you’re going to be Japanese. That’s just a fact. It’s possible to find multiple people that look so similar, you can’t tell them apart unless you’ve had time to become accustomed to their differences. Why do you think we have that moment where we say, “have we met before?” or, “sorry, I thought you looked like someone I knew.” Of course, by the laws of observation, we take in what makes a person unique; their hair color, eye color, and yes, skin color. Concluding that someone is black is not a racist thing to do, because we do the same thing with every other skin color out there, including white. To say that you don’t make a mental note that a person is white is absolute bull.

When I was watching the Saw movies, I had this familiar problem where I didn’t recognize a couple of the white characters. I don’t remember which one it was, I think it was the third one, and toward the end, it showed a face of a character we had supposedly met earlier in the movie, you know, one of those, “here’s the twist! It was this guy!” sort of deals. Whereas most would go, “OH SNAP! It was that guy!” I was sitting here going, “wait, who is that? The music gives you the feeling that this is significant…” The same thing happened with the two victims, I had no idea that they had appeared in the earlier movies until repeated flashbacks showed how certain past plot points connected the stories together. It doesn’t help that I can’t remember names either. In the later movies, I was able to recognize the guy who survived, but that was because his screen time was increased.

I’m not saying I never have a problem telling one person from the other in Asian movies, but I’ve noticed that it happens a lot less. It tends to happen more in movies that show a bunch of students in school because they all have the same uniform, unless of course they wear their hair a certain way. But in movies where the cast is composed mostly of white people, I do experience the “who is that?” thought a lot unless the character has a defining feature that’s unlike the others; unique hair or eye color, different body shape, fashion style, voice, or sometimes eye shape. Take Elijah Wood, for instance. He has very big eyes, and that’s his defining feature. I’m going to be able to recognize him among all the other white characters. Or actors that I am more familiar with because I’ve seen a lot of their movies, like Jim Carry. He’s going to stick out because I’ve had time to memorize his face.

The point is, “all [BLANK] people look the same” is absolute crap because of the obvious fact that all PEOPLE look the same, even if we don’t look the same. It all comes down to the fact that people need to just stop being racist. Haven’t we moved passed this? No, and why? It’s the same with homosexuality. It seems like society is progressing, so why aren’t we passed this? Why do people feel the need to hate people for what they can’t control? How can people possibly say things like, “black people rob banks,” “Asians eat cats,” “Mexicans are lazy,” et cetera? Yeah, there have been cases where a black person robbed a bank, but so have white people. Do you think there isn’t some sick white guy out there who likes to eat cats? And what about laziness? I’m fucking lazy as hell! I’ve met tons of lazy ass white people! Humans have different personalities and make different choices that do not depend solely on their skin color, but depend on their environment in which they grew up.

Even if everything I say is true, will that change anything? No. Because the idiots of the world are going to raise their kids with the same beliefs, and we’ll be lucky if that kid eventually learns that their parents were the idiots that they were. I hate as strongly as I love, but I hate people for their character, not their skin color. For me, that’s just the obvious, and racism, sexism, homophobia, et cetera does not make sense to me. It’s abnormal.

And of course, everything I just said was racist because I’m white.

Leave a Reply

